Our office is based within the walls of the Syntec organization in Paris.

We are organized as follows:

  • The board of directors composed of members of the federation who meet twice a year in order to debate over the different topics concerning the FNMT.
  • The chairman is Grégoire Cabri-Wiltzer ( NIM Europe ).
  • The bureau is composed of 3 Vice Presidents: Philippe Soullier (Valtus Transition), Jean-Pierre Lacroix (MCG Partners) and Marc Laigret (Eurosearch), by a General Secretary Thierry Rogeon (Lincoln Transition Executive) and by a paymaster Gilles Marc (Actiss Partners).

When to use an interim manager?

Interim managers intervene in exceptional situations; periods in which the conditions ensuring a functioning department/ company are no longer given and urgency is predominant :

  • Crisis : The prerequisites for a department’s performance are no longer viable. Possible problems are: the lack of a working information system, defunct reporting, deficient quality control, overstocking, declining sales, high turnover…
  • Projects : Mergers needing to be accomplished fast and successfully, urgent spin-offs, opening of international subsidiaries, product launch, externalisation…
  • Temporary executive replacement : The interim manager fills a vacant position that is central to the company (CEO, CRHO…) until the return of the concerned executive or whilst waiting for a permanent recruitment.

Methodology

Using a proven methodology, interim management providers are prepared to handle turnarounds and launches, or ensure the continuance of a given situation. In adapting their methodology and organisation to the specific requirements of each assignment, they ensure that clients recover from their critical situations in the fastest and most efficient way possible.

The system offered by a provider includes the delegation of a suited interim manager, a mission director, an underlying organisation, precise processes, and accurate reporting. Since this system is specific to interim management providers, no other type of organisation can offer the same services.

Interim Management is often mistaken for consulting. However, they are neither called upon for the same services, nor do they share the same perspective: consultants bring expertise, benchmarking, and work on the long-term strategy or organisation of the company. Above all, however, consultants give advice. Interim managers, on the other hand, take up the realisation of projects, remobilise teams and redress unfavourable tendencies. Nevertheless, consultancy and interim managers are often complementary services.

Interim management is sometimes mistaken for recruitment services. A recruitment agency helps companies to fill a vacant position for the long run. Interim managers, however, only work for the company for a determined period of time and are not required to have precise sectoral knowledge. They are asked to (re)construct the fundamentals of a working service/department. Indeed, candidates for permanent recruitment appreciate interim managers having (re)structured the position they are going to take up since it assures them that they integrate into a working department that can be developed in the medium and long run.

Characteristics of interim management providers

An interim management provider must at least offer :

  • Assignment organisation
  • Assignment processes
  • Significant track record
  • Interim Managers with validated career paths
  • Service contract, proof of its general liability insurance, clear tariff system

La FNMT est basée avec son secrétariat au sein des bureaux du Syntec  à Paris

La FNMT est structurée comme suit :

  • Un conseil d’administration comportant l’ensemble des membres et se réunissant deux fois par an afin de gérer l’ensemble des sujets  concernant la fédération
  • Elle est présidée par Jean-Pierre Lacroix (MCG Managers)
  • Le bureau est composé de deux vice-présidents : Philippe Soullier (Valtus Transition),  et Grégoire Cabri-Wiltzer ( NIM Europe ), d’un secrétaire général en la personne de Thierry Rogeon (Lincoln Transition Executive). Gilles Marque (Actiss Partners) est le trésorier.
  • La FNMT propose des commissions. Chacune d’elle  est gérée par un membre adhérent . Chaque commission aborde un thème structurant et des membres adhérents y participent et colaborent afin de faire progresser les expertises de la FNMT

La FNMT est active au travers  de plans de relations publiques , de son site Web , et d’action sur les réseaux sociaux.

Dans quel cas fait-on appel au management de transition

Toute situation exceptionnelle d’entreprise peut être prise en charge par le management de transition. Il s’agit de moments, de cycles, où les fondamentaux d’une fonction de l’entreprise ne sont plus rassemblés, et où l’urgence est prépondérante:

  • Crise : les fondamentaux de la fonction ne sont plus viables : plus d’ERP, reportings inexistants, pas de contrôle qualité, surstocks, ventes en baisse, turnover important, relations avec l’actionnaire rendues très difficiles…
  • Projets : fusion à mener vite et avec succès, spin-off à diriger en urgence, ouverture d’une filiale pays, lancement d’un nouveau produit, externalisation d’une production…
  • Management Relais : permettre à une fonction centrale – DAF, DRH….- de continuer à fonctionner correctement, pendant l’absence du titulaire, ou en attente d’un recrutement.

Méthodologie

On prend en charge une situation à redresser, à lancer, à maintenir, au pied levé, en y étant préparé avec méthodologie. C’est pourquoi les cabinets de management de transition développent en mission une méthodologie et une organisation spécifiques qui permettent de rétablir rapidement et efficacement des situations critiques.

Le dispositif mis en œuvre par le cabinet comprend la délégation d’un manager de transition, d’un directeur de mission, une organisation, des processus précis, un reporting serré. Seul un cabinet de management de transition peut proposer ce dispositif.

Le management de transition est souvent confondu avec le Conseil. Or il n’intervient pas au même moment ni avec la même perspective : le conseil apporte expertise, benchmark, travaille sur la stratégie ou l’organisation à long terme. Surtout, le conseil donne des recommandations. Le Management de transition apporte prise en charge et réalisation, remobilisation d’équipes et retournement de tendances. Conseil et management de transition travaillent bien ensemble.

Le management de transition est parfois confondu avec le Recrutement. Le recruteur permet de sourcer la personne idéale pour gérer le poste de DG à long terme. . Le manager de transition n’est là que pour une durée déterminée, il n’a pas besoin de connaître précisément le secteur de l’entreprise, mais il (re)construit vite les fondamentaux d’une fonction. D’ailleurs les candidats aiment savoir qu’un manager de transition a (re)structuré le poste qu’ils vont prendre, car ils ont l’assurance de trouver un service ou une fonction en ordre de marche, qu’ils pourront développer sur le moyen et long terme.

Caractéristiques des cabinets de management de transition

Un cabinet de management de transition doit proposer au minimum :

  • une organisation d’intervention
  • des processus d’intervention
  • des références de missions avec des réussites significatives
  • des managers de transition, dont le parcours professionnel a pu être validé.
  • un contrat de prestation de services, une attestation d’assurance responsabilité civile, et un système de tarification clair.